Student Council

Contact Us

Center for Student Involvement & Leadership
Room L2.71.00
524 West 59th Street
New York, NY 10019
Phone: (212) 237-8698

Office Hours

Mon - Thurs: 9:00 AM - 11:00PM

Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM


President: Whitney Brown
Ext. 8730

Vice President: Mehak Kapoor
Ext. 8727

Treasurer: Jeffrey Aikens
Ext. 8729

Secretary: Rhonda Nieves
Ext. 8728

Student Council
The Student Council is responsible for disbursing the Council funds and club funds derived from the student activity fee, as well as the additional funds allocated to Media/Yearbook from the budget of the Student Life Corporation. Composed of 24 members, the Student Council has an Executive Board that includes a president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer, and four repre­sentatives each from the graduate, senior, junior, sophomore and freshman classes. The Student Council follows the Charter of the Student Government bylaws in fulfilling its responsibilities.

Student Elections
Student Council elections and swearing in of officers for the Fall semester take place during the Spring semester. The Student Government’s Judicial Board supervises the Student Council election.

General Elections Guidelines
Student Election Review Committee (SERC) Guidelines

Judicial Board
The Student Council and the Board of Directors of the Student Life Corporation appoint the Judicicial Board. The Judicicial Board has five student members. In addition to conducting elections, the Judicial Board certifies student organizations and hears charges of impeachment against Student Council officials.