Advisory Board

Contact Us

The Center for the Advancement of Teaching
445 West 59th St.
Room 3300N
New York, NY 10019

Phone: 646.557.4660
Email: CAT@jjay.cuny.edu 

Hours:
M-Th 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
          3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Fridays: by appointment 

Upcoming Events


The Board Members of the Center for the Advancement of Teaching represent a cross-section of the John Jay faculty and serve in an advisory capacity to the Director. The Board assists in:

  • Promoting the CAT mission of making teaching “Visible and Valued”
  • Encouraging collaborations between members of the college and CAT
  • Identifying the support needs of all faculty members, full-time and part-time
  • Creating a community of master teachers who strive to enhance the teaching and learning experience at John Jay
  • Developing, implementing, and assessing the continuing education and professional development needs of all faculty
  • Supporting research into the scholarship of teaching and learning
  • Recognizing the contributions of faculty members who are dedicated to teaching

Elton Beckett
Lecturer
Communication and Theatre Arts
ebeckett@jjay.cuny.edu

Avram Bornstein
Associate Professor
Anthropology Department
abornstein@jjay.cuny.edu

Gloria Brown-Marshall
Associate Professor
Law & Police Science Department
gbmarshall@jjay.cuny.edu

Katie Gentile
Associate Professor of Counseling and Gender Studies
Counseling Department
kgentile@jjay.cuny.edu

Amy Green
Associate Professor of
Communication and Theatre Arts
Chair, Interdisciplinary Studies Program
amysgreen@comcast.net

Karen Kaplowitz
Associate Professor
English Department
President, Faculty Senate
kkaplowitz@jjay.cuny.edu

Bilal Khan
Associate Professor
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
bkhan@jjay.cuny.edu

Gerald Markowitz
Distinguished Professor
History and Interdisciplinary Studies
gmarkowitz@jjay.cuny.edu

Gabrielle Salfati
Associate Professor
Psychology Department
gsalfati@jjay.cuny.edu

Karen Terry
Associate Provost and Dean of Research and Strategic Partnerships
Office for the Advancement of Research
kterry@jjay.cuny.edu