TEACHING FOR LEADERSHIP & JUSTICE

The NYPD courses are taught by full time and part time faculty members who bring a wealth of knowledge into the classrooms. Our faculty members are academics and practitioners who have extensive experience and research in law enforcement, race and ethnic diversity, police community relations and issues relating to crime and justice. Their practical experiences and theoretical knowledge enriches the level of teaching. Below is a list of professors who teach in the program.

Undergraduate faculty members

Prof. Avram Bornstein
Academic Program Director
Department of Anthropology & Center on Terrorism
abornstein@jjay.cuny.edu
212.237.8287
9.63.18NB

Prof. Keith Carrington
Department of Law, Police Science and Criminal Justice Administration
kcarrington@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐781‐5113
3508N

Prof. Sophine Charles
Department of Anthropology
scharles@jjay.cuny.edu
9.63NB

Prof. Mary Gibbons
Department of Anthropology
mgibbons@jjay.cuny.edu
411T

Prof. William LaRaia
Department of Law, Police Science and Criminal Justice Administration
wlaraia@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐781‐5116
3508N

Prof. Basir McHawi
Department of Anthropology
bmchawi@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐781‐5119
411T

Prof. Sandra Proctor
Department of Anthropology
sproctor@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐781‐5120
3508N

Prof. John P. Walsh
Department of Law, Police Science and Criminal Justice Administration
jwalsh@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐557‐4564
422T

Graduate faculty members

Prof. William Fraher
Department of Law, Police Science and Criminal Justice Administration
wfraher@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐781‐5114
422T

Prof. Maria (Maki) Haberfeld
Chair & Academic Program Director
Department of Law, Police Science and Criminal Justice Administration
mhaberfeld@jjay.cuny.edu
212. 237.8381
Room 422T

Prof. William McDonald
Department of Law, Police Science and Criminal Justice Administration
wmcdonald@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐781‐5118
3508N

Prof. Carmen Solis
SEEK Department
csolis@jjay.cuny.edu
212‐237‐8173
3103N

Prof. Michael C. Walker
Department of Law, Police Science and Criminal Justice Administration
mwalker@jjay.cuny.edu
646‐781‐5122
422T