Contact Us

Student Academic
Success Programs
500 West 56th Street
Room 100W
New York, NY 10019
Main Office: 212.484.1130
sasp@jjay.cuny.edu

About Us

Follow SASP

.. ..

In Peer Mentors' Words

Alexandra Avila
“I enjoy helping people and I feel that as a peer mentor I get to make a difference in students’ lives.”

Jokairys Careres
“It makes me feel fulfilled inside knowing that I have done something positive in my day or my week and helped somebody out.”

Jason Frias
“This job thought me how to stay on top and meet deadlines.”

Patrick Grimes
“For me being a peer mentor means to be a part of something bigger than myself. I can do so much good work being a part of this program.”

Alexis Hiralall
“This job made me realize that I can influence other people’s lives and that I can help people to succeed.”

Crystal Johnson
“I like that I get to share my own personal experiences, my downfalls, and my successes with newly admitted students to help them reach their maximum potential.”

Sophie Plaisir
“Being a peer mentor means the world to me. I love this job! I love to help people in any way that I can.”

 

 

If you are like most first-year students, you will have plenty of questions about college life, campus resources, and what it takes to be a student at John Jay. The SASP Peer Mentors will have answers to all these questions and more. As a student in a Learning Community or First Year Seminar, you and your classmates will be connected with a Peer Mentor who is dedicated to making your transition to college successful and fun.

Apply to became a SASP Peer Mentor!
2015 Application materials available here.

Meet the SASP Student Success Coach

 Nancy Yang
 Coordinator of the SASP Peer Mentor Program
 Phone: 646.557.4422
 Email:
nyang@jjay.cuny.edu
 John Jay favorite: Bringing out the best in first-year students
 Interests: wrestling, happy students, peer mentors, technology

Meet Your SASP Peer Mentors

 Alexandra Avila, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: alexandra.avila@jjay.cuny.edu
 Major: Criminal Justice
 John Jay favorite: Freshman Orientation
 
 Interests: Criminal Minds, playing chess, animals, helping others

 Alexis Hiralall, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email:
alexis.hiralall@jjay.cuny.edu
 Major: Forensic Psychology
 John Jay favorite: Writing for the John Jay Sentinel
 Interests: swings, Eeyore, anything blue, snorkeling

 Brittany Lahey, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: brittany.lahey@jjay.cuny.edu 
 Major: Forensic Psychology 
 John Jay Favorite: Improv Drama Class 
 Interests: Steelers, Dexter, PLL, P!nk

dfgddg

 Cristina Enriquez, Transfer Peer Mentor
 Email:
cristina.enriquez@jjay.cuny.edu 
 Major: Criminal Justice
 John Jay Favorite: Weeks of Welcome
 Interests: Jogging, learning, boxing, ideologies, 
 youth justice,
yoga, horror movies

dfgddg

 Crystal Johnson, Transfer Peer Mentor
 Email:
crystal.johnson2@jjay.cuny.edu 
 Major: BA/MA Forensic Psychology 
 John Jay Favorite: Freshman Bash! 
 Interests: mentoring, zumba, Glee, networking

dfgddg

 Elidi Lara, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: elidi.lara@jjay.cuny.edu 

 Major: Political Science 
 John Jay Favorite: Club Row 
 Interests: Reading, writing, music, PLL

dfgddg

 Elizabeth Porchiazzo, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: elizabeth.porchiazzo@jjay.cuny.edu 

 Major: Forensic Psychology 
 John Jay Favorite: Weeks of Welcome 
 Interests: Baking, writing, dancing, free stuff

dfgddg

 Gladys Rivera-Martinez, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: gladys.rivera-martinez@jjay.cuny.edu 

 Major: Criminal Justice BS 
 John Jay Favorite: Freshman Orientation 
 Interests: Exploring NYC, reading, going to the park, playing sports

dfgddg

 Isseu Ndao, Transfer Peer Mentor 
 Email: isseu.ndao@jjay.cuny.edu
 
 Major: International Criminal Justice 
 John Jay Favorite: Weeks of Welcome
 Interests: United Nations, FBI, Leadership and Swimming  

dfgddg

 Jason Frias, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email:
jason.frias@jjay.cuny.edu
 Major: Police Studies
 John Jay favorite: Welcome Week at John Jay
 
 Interests: baseball, swimming, reading, writing, running

 Jessica McFadzean, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: jessica.mcfadzean@jjay.cuny.edu
 
 Major: Forensic Psychology 
 John Jay Favorite: Early Start Program
 Interests: TV Shows, striving to do well in class

dfgddg

 Jokairys Caceres, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: jokairys.caceres@jjay.cuny.edu
 Major
: Criminology
 John Jay favorite: Welcome Week 

 Interests: dancing, math, reading, dominoes, Yankees baseball

 Kenny Gonzalez, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: kenny.gonzalez1@jjay.cuny.edu 

 Major: Forensic Psychology 
 John Jay Favorite: Weeks of Welcome 
 Interests: volleyball, foreign languages, anime, video games

 Kyle Roberts, Freshman Peer Mentor 
 Email: kyle.roberts@jjay.cuny.edu 

 Major: Philosophy 
 John Jay Favorite: All Free Food Events!
 Interests: Music (playing and listening), martial arts, philosophy,
 technology 

 Maricela Cano, Peer Program Assistant 
 Email:
mcano@jjay.cuny.edu
 Major: Political Science
 John Jay Favorite: Weeks of Welcome
 Interests: Shopping, music, food

 Monika Lenart, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: monika.lenart@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Forensic Psychology
 John Jay Favorite: Orientation and Welcome Week
 Interests: Dancing, singing, watching movies, soccer

 Naz Seenauth, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: naz.seenauth@jjay.cuny.edu
 
 Major: Criminal Justice BS
 John Jay Favorite: The Jay Walk
 Interests: Poetry, Music, Empowerment, Crime Novels, 
 Random Acts of Kindness, Nature, Quotes

 Patrick Grimes, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email:
patrick.grimes@jjay.cuny.edu
 Major: International Criminal justice
 John Jay favorite: First Year Student Showcase
 Interests: scuba diving, wrestling, tattoos,
 underwater photography

 

 Sophie Plaisir, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: sophie.plaisir@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Forensic Psychology
 John Jay Favorite: Freshman Bash!
 Interests: Music, Food, TV, Dancing

 Stephanie Feliciano, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: stephanie.feliciano@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Political Science
 John Jay Favorite: Freshman Orientation
 Interests: Law, psychology, cooking, reading,
 writing, movies, crocheting, vampire romances

 Tiffany Soomdat, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: tiffany.soomdat@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Economics
 John Jay Favorite: Visit with the Dean of Case Western
 
Reserve University School of Law Lawrence E. Mitchell
 Interests: Art, Math, Music, Vegetarian Foods, Law & Order SVU

 Tikesha Welcome, Transfer Peer Mentor
 Email: tikesha.welcome@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Criminal Justice
 John Jay Favorite: Transfer Orientation
 Interests: Law & Order, dancing, reading,
 go-karting, criminal justice 

 

 Tira Ann Affatato, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: tira.affatato@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Law & Society
 John Jay Favorite: Freshman Bash!
 Interests: Baseball, Batman, Eating, Dancing & Singing
 while no one’s watching

 Trushal Pandhi, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: trushal.pandhi@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Law & Society
 John Jay Favorite: Freshman Orientation
 Interests: Mets Baseball, tennis, writing, running
 

 Zomorah Kennedy, Freshman Peer Mentor
 Email: zomorah.kennedy@jjay.cuny.edu

 Major: Forensic Psychology
 John Jay Favorite: Freshman Orientation
 Interests: Fiction writing, reading, music, writing