Advisory Board

Advisory Board

Standing Advisory Board


Dr. C. Jama Adams

Chair, African Americana Studies Department, John Jay College
cadams@jjay.cuny.edu


Dr. David Brotherton

Sociology Department, John Jay College
dbrotherton@jjay.cuny.edu


Dr. Katheryn Russell‐Brown

Director, Center for the Study of Race and Race Relations, Levine College of Law, University of Florida
russellBrownK@law.ufl.edu


Dr. Rod Brunson
Rutgers School of Criminal Justice
Director of the Racial Democracy Crime and Justice Network
rod.brunson@rutgers.edu

Prof. Paul Butler
Georgetown School of Law
pdb42@law.georgetown.edu

Dr. Todd R. Clear
Provost of Rutgers University-Newark
tclear@rutgers.edu


Prof. Tami Gold

Department of Film and Media Studies, Hunter College
tamigold@mindspring.com

Stephen Handelman
Center on Media Crime and Justice
shandelman@jjay.cuny.edu

Prof. David A. Harris
University of Pittsburgh School of Law
daharris@pitt.edu


Dr. Tracie Keesee
National Network for Safe Communities
tkeesee@jjay.cuny.edu

Prof. Andrew Leong
Philosophy Department, University of Massachusetts‐Boston
andrew.leong@umb.edu


Dr. Ma’at Lewis

Department of Counseling, John Jay College
malewis@jjay.cuny.edu

Director Marc Mauer
The Sentencing Project, Washington, DC
mauer@sentencingproject.org

Dr. Suzanne Oboler
Latin American and Latina/o Studies Department, John Jay College
soboler@jjay.cuny.edu

Dr. Wilson Palacios
Department of Criminology, UMass-Lowell
Wilson_Palacios@uml.edu

Dr. Ruth Peterson
Department of Sociology, Emeritus at The Ohio State University
Co-Founder of the Racial Democracy Crime and Justice Network
peterson.5@osu.edu

Dr. Divine Pryor
Executive Director of the Center for NuLeadership on Urban Solutions

Dr. Beth Richie
Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Criminal Justice and African American Studies Department, University of Illinois‐Chicago
brichie@uic.edu

Dr. Juan Sanchez

Daniel Stageman
Manager, Advancement of Research, John Jay College
dstageman@jjay.cuny.edu

Dr. Vernetta Young
Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Howard University
vyoung@howard.edu