Counseling Services Center Liaisons

Counseling Services Center Liaisons

The Counseling Services Center assigns counselor liaisons to academic and student service departments. The purpose of the counselor liaison is to act as a consultant to faculty and staff that observe students with distressed, disruptive or dysregulated behaviors. The list of counselor liaisons can also be obtained from the Counseling Department website. During business hours Monday, Thursday, and Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM and Tuesday and Wednesday 9:00 AM-7:00, you can call the Counseling Services Center (212.237.8111) and request a consultation. The counselor liaison will assist you in assessing concerns, gauging the safety risk and developing appropriate responses. When appropriate, the counselor liaison will recommend referral to Behavioral Intervention Team (BIT) or the Security Department. During all other hours contact the Security Department at 212.237.8888.

Counseling Liasons

Specialty/Areas of Research Interest

Liaison Department(s)

Gerard W. Bryant, PhD
Director of Counseling
Room L68.05NB
646-557-4552
gwbryant@jjay.cuny.edu

Training & Supervision
Crisis Management
Crisis Intervention
Stress & Coping , Trauma
Law Enforcement

Behavioral Intervention Team
Honors Program
Macaulay Honors College
Pre-Law Institute

Katie Gentile, PhD
Director, Gender Studies
Associate Professor
Room L68.15NB
212-237-8110
kgentile@jjay.cuny.edu

Impact of Gender Related Violence
Trauma, Intimate Partner and Family Violence, Stalking, Sexual Abuse and Assault, LBGTQ issues, and Eating disorders

Crisis
Domestic Violence Concerns
Art and Music 
Bursar Office
Financial Aid

Jessica Greenfield, LCSW
Women's Center Counselor
Gender-Based Violence Prevention and Response Adovcate
Women's Center
Room L67.09NB
212-237-8184
jgreenfield@jjay.cuny.edu

Trauma Counseling and Posttraumatic Stress disorder (PTSD) as they relate to sexual assault 
Childhood Sexual Abuse
Intimate partner violence
Bilingual social work practice and LGBTQ issues
(Spanish speaking)

Crisis
Domestic Violence Concerns
Title IX / Gender Based Violence

Christine M. Givens, PhD
Associate HEO Counselor
Room L68.10NB
212-484-1369
cgivens@jjay.cuny.edu

Crisis Intervention

Trauma Counseling Relationship & Couples Counseling

English
Library
Philosophy
Public Safety

Rachel Shanken, LMHC
Associate HEO Counselor
Room L68.07NB
646-557-4808
rshanken@jjay.cuny.edu

Anxiety & Depression
Career
Existential/End-of-Life issues

Academic Advisement
Health Office
Jay Express
Registrar Office

Betty Taylor-Leacock, M.S., P.D.
Associate HEO Counselor
Room L68.09NB
212-237-8140
bltayor@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Safe Zone Initiative 
LGBTQ & Allies Club
Advisor to Peer Programs
Outreach
Multicultural Counseling

Graduate School
Interdisciplinary Studies
Math
SEEK

Elena Beharry, PsyD
Associate HEO Counselor
L68.08NB
212-237-8148
ebeharry@jjay.cuny.edu

Psycho-educational Assessment (Non-discriminatory Assessment)
Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy
Group Program

Economics
History
McNair
Accessibility Services

 

SENIOR DIRECTOR

Dana Trimboli, M.A.
212.237.8106
dtrimboli@jjay.cuny.edu
L68.06NB

COUNSELING STAFF

Laura Diaz, B.A.
Wellness Center Intake Specialist
646.557.4785
ldiaz@jjay.cuny.edu
L68.25NB  

Tiffani Morton
Single Stop Site Manager
212.877.6212
datorres@jjay.cuny.edu
L68.13NB

Arcelina Vega, MSW
Wellness Intake Specialist
212.484.1321
arvega@jjay.cuny.edu
L67.08NB