Faculty Fellowships

Faculty Fellowships

In addition to being prolific authors and grant awardees, many of our faculty members also hold fellowships from a diverse array of foundations and institutions (federal, private, etc). Below is a list of various fellows at John Jay (2013-present):

Professor HeYi He, Sciences (2015)

Professor He received the 2015 E. Kika De La Garza Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation for her project, Fostering Authentic Learning at Hispanic Serving Institutions by Integrating Research Component in Curriculum.



Professor Sara McDougallSara McDougall, History (2014)

Professor McDougall received the Mellon Fellowship from the American Association of University Women (AAUW).





Professor Michael Brownstein

Michael Brownstein, Philosophy (2014)

Professor Brownstein received the Visiting Scholar Fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS). He also received the ACLS Fellowship from the Graduate Center (CUNY) for his project, On the Virtues and Vices of Spontaneity.




PRI Director Ann Jacobs


Ann Jacobs, Prisoner Reentry Institute (2014)

PRI Director Jacobs received the Tow Advocacy Fellowship from the Department of Homeland Security.







REC Director Jeffrey Butts


Jeffrey Butts, Research and Evaluation Center (2013)

REC Director Butts received the Justice Fellowship for Criminal Justice Policy Research from the Earhart Foundation.







Professor Isabel Martinez

Isabel Martinez, Latin American & Latino/a Studies (2013)

Professor Martinez received the 2013 Career Enhancement Fellowship for Junior Faculty from the Faculty Fellowship Publication Program at CUNY (FFPP) and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.