Graduates and OSAC

Graduates and OSAC

John Jay Graduates Selected for Scientific Area Committees and Subcommittees

Based on the 2009 National Academy of Science report on the state of Forensic Science in the US, the Department of Justice (DOJ) has given the National Institute of Standards the task to create documentary standards and guidelines for forensic science. To this effect NIST has also formed the Forensic Science Standards Board (FSSB) and five Scientific Area Committees (SAC); see These committees and their subcommittees are staffed with experts in each field and will work on the scientific basis for each forensic discipline and support NIST in this task. In October 2014 NIST announced that 402 experts were named to serve on the 23 subcommittees of the five Scientific Area Committees on Biology/DNA, Chemistry/Instrumental Analysis, Crime Scene/Death Investigation, Digital/Multimedia and Physics/Pattern Interpretation.

Alumni of the Graduate Program in Forensic Science and current and former John Jay College faculty are well represented at various levels, and we are proud to contribute to this important effort. See below for a list of names.

Physics Pattern Scientific Area Committee
o JoAnn Buscaglia, PhD; U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation Laboratory
o Nicholas D. K. Petraco, Ph.D., CUNY, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Subcommittee on Bloodstain Pattern Analysis
o Peter De Forest, PhD, retired from John Jay college of Criminal Justice (former member)
o Ralph Ristenbatt III, MS, Pennsylvania State University (former member)

Subcommittee on Footwear and Tire Tread
o Aurora Dumitra, MS, New York City Police Department Police Laboratory
o Jacqueline Speir, Ph.D., West Virginia University

DNA Scientific Area Committee
Subcommittee on Biological Data Interpretation and Reporting
o Mechthild Prinz, Ph.D., John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York

Chemistry/Instrumental Analysis Scientific Area Committee
o Vincent Desiderio, MS, U.S. Postal Inspection Service

Subcommittee on Materials (Trace)
o    John Reffner, Ph.D., John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York

Subcommittee on Fire Debris and Explosives

o Vincent Desiderio, MS, Subcommitte Chair, see above
o Philip Antoci, MS, New York City Police Department

Subcommittee on Geological Material
o Jack Hietpas, Ph.D., U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation

Subcommittee on Gunshot Residue
o James Garcia, MS, U.S. Department of Defense, Defense Forensic Science Center

Formerly, the US, the Department of Justice (DOJ) had implemented the National Forensic Commission (NSF) a group of legal and forensic science professionals that met under the joint administration of the DOJ and (NIST). The goal of the Commission was to provide recommendations and advice to the Department of Justice (DOJ) concerning national methods and strategies for strengthening the validity and reliability of the forensic sciences by looking into quality assurance, scientific methods, reporting and overall needs of forensic science and medico legal death investigation providers. Several subcommittees were tasked with developing specific background information and assisted the Commissioners with factual assessments. See for a complete list.

We are proud to have had John Jay College of Criminal Justice Professor Larry Kobilinsky, Science Department Chair, serve on the Commission’s Subcommittee on Reporting and Testimony.