Public Management Advising

Public Management Advising

Public Management Student Service (PMSS) offers advising and student support services to both Graduate and Undergraduate students. The offices are located within the Department of Public Management, Haaren Hall, Room 533 where students can receive graduate, major, and minor advisement and assistance towards their career goals.

Students can receive advising either face to face, by email, by telephone or by Skype. 

Make an
appointment

Staff

 

Yvonne Purdie
Director of Public Management Student Services 
Undergraduate Advisor for Criminal Justice Management, Public Administration, Fraud Examination and Financial Forensics Majors and the BS/MPA Dual Degree program
Room 533.44
212 237-8554
ypurdie@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Deborah Washington
MPA Advisor
Room 533.29
Telephone: 646-557-4830
Email: dwashington@jjay.cuny.edu
Skype Address: Deborah.Washington68
Appointments https://www.timetrade.com/book/14RCR

Giselle Blanco 
MPA Advisor
Room 533.28
Telephone: 212-237-8929
Email: gblanco@jjay.cuny.edu

Mechelle Grayson
MPA Advisor
Room 533.30
Telephone: 212-781-5215
Email: mgrayson@jjay.cuny.edu

Melissa Joseph
MPA Advisor
Room 533.18
Telephone: 212-393-6408
Email: mjoseph@jjay.cuny.edu

Fatima Pujols
Book Distribution and IPAD Loan Program
Room 533.13
Telephone: 646-557-4873
Email: fpujols@jjay.cuny.edu
 

Mabel Gomes
Undergraduate & Graduate Advisor, Advanced Certificate in Forensic Accounting
mgomes@jay.cuny.edu 
646-557-4752

MPA Graduate students may also contact the Advising Office at mpaadvising@jjay.cuny.edu

Advisors are also available to answer student questions related to:

  • Advising Holds
  • Waivers
  • Course Substitutions
  • Career Advising
  • Degree Completion Plans
  • Process or resolving Incomplete grades
  • MPAQE Test Administration
  • Graduate Admissions
  • BS/MPA Advising
  • Book and IPad Loans (MPA Graduate Students Only)

 

Public Management Student Services

Hours of Operation:
Monday and Friday: 9:00 am -5:00 pm.
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday until 7:00pm when classes are in Session
Saturdays : 10:00 am- 4:00 pm When Classes are in session (Graduate Students Only)

Important Dates:

Spring 2017

January 23, 2017 -, IPad Book Distribution Center Opens (Online Sudents, please contact an Advisor regarding Books and  IPads) *** Located at Room 523 Haaren Hall ***

January 23, 2017: Last Day to apply for Fall ePermits
January 30, 2017: First Day of Classes
February 5, 2017: Last Day to Add or Swap a Class
Februry 11, 2017: IPad Book Distribution Center Closes (4:00 PM) ( IPads or Books can be picked up or returned by appointment only after September)

For All other Important Dates, please consult the Academic Calendar