CSCI Advisement

CSCI Advisement

Dear Student,
Email an advisor for assistance with over-tallies, transfer computer science credits, and requirements for your major. Be sure to include your full name, EMPLID, and a detailed description of your request.

If you have any questions or difficulties registering for computer science courses, please schedule an appointment with an advisor. A list of the department’s faculty advisors can be found at the bottom of the page.

For additional information, see Computer Science and Information Security Major Advising Resources or About D4CS.

Please note over-tallies are not possible at this time for all modalities, especially hybrid and in-person sections. The capacity for each section is already set to the highest possible due to room capacity and other.

In addition, 

  1. Advisors do not give students permission to take CSCI 400 and 401 together. If a student needs to take CSCI 400 and 401 in a single semester to graduate, CSCI 400 and 380 together is possible which we can substitute for 401.
  2. Advisors do not waive prerequisites for courses. Such waivers often prevent upper level students about to gradaute from registering for the course they need.
  3. Many students are asking if they can continue to take classes online. Our programs are not designed to be online programs. Students should expect to have to come to the campus in order to fullfill course requirements.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact an advisor below.

Sincerely,
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Last updated Winter/Spring 2022


Dear Computer Major and Minor Students,

This is a grid that shows most of the computer major courses being offered in fall 2015The grid should help you in planning your fall schedule to satisfy your computer major or minor requirements. Note that the Department now offers computer major courses on Friday. In addition, in the fall the Department will offer a new special topics course, Linux Administration and Security, CSCI 480. This course may be of interest to both majors and minors. You may now register for these courses via CUNYfirst.

If you have any questions or difficulties registering for computer courses, please visit the Department and schedule an appointment with an advisor. A list of the department’s faculty advisors and staff can be found at the bottom of the page.

Best of luck on your finals!

Sincerely, 
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science


Computer Science Advisement

 


Computer Science Major Advisor

Christopher Church, 6.63.02 NB, TBD, cchurch@jjay.cuny.edu

Computer Science Faculty Advisors

Aftab Ahmad, 6.65.12 NB, 212.393.6313, aahmad@jjay.cuny.edu
Hunter Johnson, 6.63.19 NB, 212.237.8846, hujohnson@jjay.cuny.edu
Jennifer Holst, TBD, TBD, jholst@jjay.cuny.edu
Kumar Ramansenthil, TBD, TBD, kramansenthil@jjay.cuny.edu
Matluba Khodjaeva, 6.65.19 NB, 212.237.8087, mkhodjaeva@jjay.cuny.edu
Muath Obaidat, 6.63.05 NB, 212.237.8920, mobaidat@jjay.cuny.edu
Shweta Jain, 6.65.20 NB, 212.237.8843, sjain@jjay.cuny.edu

Graduate D4CS Program Advisors
Aftab Ahmad, 6.65.12 NB, 212.393.6313, aahmad@jjay.cuny.edu
Douglas Salane, 6.63.06 NB, 212.237.8836, dsalane@jjay.cuny.edu
Muath Obaidat, 6.63.05 NB, 212.237.8920, mobaidat@jjay.cuny.edu
Shweta Jain, 6.65.20 NB, 212.237.8843, sjain@jjay.cuny.edu

Last updated Winter/Spring 2022