Department of Public Safety

Department of Public Safety

 

Message from the Director 

Welcome to the 2017/2018 academic year! I am excited to be joining the John Jay College community as its new Director of Public Safety. I wanted to take this opportunity to introduce myself to all of you, and give you an idea of what you can expect from me, and the Department of Public Safety.

I grew up in the mid-western United States, and attended college both there, and in the deep south. After completing graduate school, I worked for six years in academia as a university faculty member. During that time, I was recruited by, and eventually joined the Federal Bureau of Investigation where I spent the last 21 years as a Special Agent assigned to the New York City office. My most recent assignment was working in the Community Outreach Program -- the FBI's equivalent to community affairs.

What does all of this mean for you? It means I have an appreciation for the life of a student struggling to make ends meet while working, juggling family life, and trying to get an education. It means I understand the perspective of a faculty member who wants to teach, and conduct his or her research in an unrestricted, yet safe environment. It means I understand how important it is for people in public safety positions to earn and maintain the trust of the public through the development of positive relationships within the diverse populations they serve. Now, as a college staff member, it means I recognize and respect how important the administrative, support and enrichment components of the college are to creating the best environment possible for everyone to achieve their individual goals.

Appreciation. Understanding. Recognition. Respect. You can expect this from all the members of my Department.

I look forward to getting to know, and serving all the members of the John Jay community, and encourage you to get to know all of us in Public Safety.

Be safe!

Diego

Diego Redondo, Ph.D.,
Director of Public Safety & Risk Management
 

 

 

Public safety image

MISSION STATEMENT: To improve student success by safeguarding and protecting all persons and property within the college’s diverse community.

The Department of Public Safety is committed to the safety and security of each student, faculty member, staff employee and visitor at John Jay College. The Department of Public Safety strives to provide a high level of customer service that shows courtesy and respect for each individual and supports the educational mission of the college.

The Department of Public Safety office hours are as follows: 

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Fridays:  9:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Saturdays: 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Sundays: Closed (For non-emergencies, call 212-237-8524. For emergencies, call 212-237-8888)
 

Administrative Personnel

Diego Redondo

Director of Public Safety

212-237-8521

dredondo@jjay.cuny.edu

Isabelle Curro

Deputy Director

212-237-8529

icurro@jjay.cuny.edu

David Rivera

Assistant Director 

212-237-8525

drivera@jjay.cuny.edu

Lindsey Kayman

EHS Director

212-621-4117

lkayman@jjay.cuny.edu

Barbara Wala

Administrative Manager

212-237-8511

bwala@jjay.cuny.edu

Yaroslav Rogovoy

Security Systems and Fire Safety Specialist

212-237-8524

yrogovoy@jjay.cuny.edu

Mariateresa Baglio

Campus Security Specialist

212-237-8527

mbaglio@jjay.cuny.edu

Constantinos
Katergaris

Campus Security Specialist

212-621-6454

ckatergaris@jjay.cuny.edu

       

Rabiyyah Williams

Administrative Specialist

212-484-1142

rwilliams@jjay.cuny.edu

Janet Winter

Executive Assistant to Director

212-237-8626

jwinter@jjay.cuny.edu

Jamal Cummings

Administrative Coordinator

212-393-6891

jcummings@jjay.cuny.edu

Quanessa Johnson

Administrative Coordinator

212-237-8427

qjohnson@jjay.cuny.edu

Mandy Lau

Environmental Health & Safety Coordinator

646-557-4625

mlau@jjay.cuny.edu

Kevin Mendez

Administrative Coordinator

212-621-4112

kemendez@jjay.cuny.edu